Awards & Honors

KlimaExpo.NRW (2016)

The project sOptimo "R&D results of GFaI and partners for structural optimization of energy supply systems" of the GFaI research group Graph Based Engineering Systems was accepted to the exhibition "KlimaExpo.NRW", a state initiative of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Award in Memory of Prof Vito Di Gesù (2016)

GFaI employee Mario Koddenbrock was awarded for his work "An innovative 3D color barcode - Intuitive and realistic visualization of digital data" by the University of Palermo.
Co-authors: Daniel Herfert, Frank Püschel, Cornelia Rataj and Matthias Melitzki
Event: CompSysTech'16, 23 and 24 June 2016, Palermo, Italy

Best Paper Award (2016)

Vishnu Proshanth Murugan received a Best Paper Award for the "Development of a Tool for the Graphical Modelling of 3D CAD Models using a Rapid Prototyping Framework".
Co-authors: Robert Scheffler, Gregor Wrobel and Dr. Matthias Pleßow
Event: CompSysTech'16, June 23-24, 2016, Palermo, Italy

DKB-VIU Young Researcher Award (2013)

GFaI employee Tina Hiebert, Image Processing / Industrial Applications, received a Young Researcher Award of the Deutsche Kreditbank (DKB) and the Verband Innovativer Unternehmen (VIU) for her work "Process for the automated determination of the thickness of industrial coatings by digital imaging and processing".

ABICOR Innovation Award (2008)

3rd place for the development "Real-time spectral regulator for for pulse welding machines"

Team: Dr.-Ing Gerd Heinz (GFaI), Dipl.-Ing. Frank Hofmann (IWF, TU Berlin), Dr. rer. nat. Heinz Schöpp (INP Greifswald) and Dipl.-Phys. Gregor Gött (INP Greifswald)

read more

bauma Innovation Award (2007)

"Bildgestützte Bewertungsverfahren für Sichtbetonoberflächen"

(Category "Research" as part of a consortium under the leadership of the TU Dresden)

read more

German Future Award (2005)

Nomination for the innovation "Listening with the eyes: Acoustic Camera"

Dr.-Ing. Gerd Heinz, Dipl.-Ing. Dirk Döbler and Swen Tilgner

read more

Innovationspreis Berlin-Brandenburg (2003)

GFaI wins the Innovation Award Berlin Brandenburg 2003 for developing the "acoustic camera".

Otto von Guericke Award of AiF (2001)

1st place for the "advancement of acoustic imaging processes"

Dr. Gerd Heinz, Dirk Döbler and Swen Tilgner